top of page
Pie Jesu (from Cenotaph Requiem) for Brass Band - Digital Download

Pie Jesu - From Cenotaph Requiem (for Brass Band) by Simon Haw.


This arrangement features: Solo Cornet 1 and Solo Cornet 2


Cenotaph Requiem was written in the summer of 2018, to mark the 100th Anniversary of the end of the First World War 1914-1918.


The work uses a number of texts from the Latin Mass - Introit, Kyrie, Sanctus, Agnus Dei, Pie Jesu, In Paradisum - to form an overarching Requiem structure, interspersed with 5 instrumental movements - Marne, Gallipoli, Jutland, Somme, Passchendaele - that provide a chronological narrative of the First World War.


The Latin and Instrumental movements derive their thematic material from 3 motives first presented in the Introit, thereby linking the poignant, descriptive instrumental elements that portray the most appalling and heartfelt conditions endured by soldiers, sailors and airmen during the war, with moments of quiet reflection, solitude and prayer, found within the Latin text.


"Pie Jesu Domine, dona eis requiem;

Dona eis requiem sempiternam."


"Merciful Lord Jesus, grant them rest;

Grant them eternal rest." 


Cenotaph Requiem is intended as an epitaph to all who served in the First World War, but the enduring nature of warfare is constant, therefore in many ways, it should be regarded as a work for all time.

Pie Jesu (from Cenotaph Requiem) for Brass Band - Digital Download

  • Purchasing a Digital Download will give you access to a Zip File via a link.

    The Zip File comprises a Folder containing separate PDF Files of the Full Score and Parts.

    Unless otherwise stated, all PDF Files have been formatted to A4 size to facilitate Office/Home Printing.